High Five Cookies Post 1

The other day I watched Nabeel play with his latest toy, Play Doh, gifted by the school on the occasion of Children’s Day. He took to the toy like fish to water and effortlessly rolled, pressed, cut and shaped the dough. This made me realize I had never baked shaped cookies for Nabeel (hmm..what a random connection 🙂 ) and maybe should try making a batch soon and get Nabeel involved too where he could show off his new found skills :-). Soon I took to the internet for some inspiration with the hand shape in my mind since similar shaped cutters were lying in my cupboard for quite some time. The High 5 cookies caught my fancy as I found the idea very cute with the recipe requiring basic icing skills ideal for a beginner like me.

High five cookies 2
Cookies are something I don’t enjoy eating so have never really considered baking them. Unless I come across some drool worthy chocolate cookie recipes like the Double Chocolate Chunk Oat Cookies which I posted here, I don’t bother trying them. So, this was my first attempt at shaped and iced cookies which resulted in tasty but average looking cookies. There were a LOT of errors which I shall list down for you as separate cookie and icing Dos and Don’ts, maybe you can learn from them and follow while trying the recipe.

Hi 5 Cookies 2
The post has a lot of pictures and collages as I feel that is the best way one can relate to the text recipe. By the time I finished writing the post it ran into 1400+ words with a dozen+ images, I had no choice but to divide the post into 2. Post 1 has the Cookie Dough & Icing Recipe while Post 2 has the Steps to Decorating the High Five Cookies and Dos and Don’ts of the recipe.
Now, bring out your cookie cutters and piping bags and let’s get started.

HIGH FIVE COOKIES

High five cookies

Ingredients

For the Sugar Cookie Dough
¾ cup butter (I used salted butter)
1 cup powdered sugar
2 eggs
2.5 cups refined wheat flour / maida
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4th teaspoon salt (if using unsalted butter, use ½ teaspoon salt)
1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Step 1 – Cream butter and sugar in a vessel using an electric beater. The mixture should turn off white and feel fluffy.   Creaming Sugar & Butter

Step 2 – Add in the eggs one by one. Beat lightly just to mix the eggs well.

Mixing Egg & Flour

Step 3 – Then mix in the remaining ingredients and fold lightly using a spatula.
Step 4 – Remove the dough on a cling film, wrap and refrigerate it for minimum 3 hours.

Refrigerating the Dough
Step 5 – When ready to shape and bake the cookies, remove the dough from the refrigerator. Keep flour, cookie cutter, rolling pin, greased baking tray ready.

Step 6 – Dust the surface with enough flour and then roll the dough to 1/8th inch thickness. Cut with the cutters and place on the tray.

Hi 5 Cookies 4
Step 7 – Bake the cookies in a pre-heated oven for 5 to 8 minutes at 200C. When the edges start to achieve a light brown tinge remove them from the oven. Let the tray sit on the kitchen counter till all the cookies have cooled.

Baked High Five Cookies
For the Cookie Icing
2 cups icing sugar or powdered sugar
4 tablespoons milk
Food Colours of your choice – I used blue and yellow, as seen in the pictures.

  • How To Make Icing For CookiesIn a dry bowl mix sugar and milk using a fork. The quantity of milk varies to achieve the right icing consistency.
  • Divide the icing if you are going to use more than one colour.
  • Add colour to the icing using a paint brush.

Continue reading about Steps to Decorating the High Five Cookies and Dos and Don’ts of the recipe here at Post 2.

Till then, love Being a Mommy!

6 thoughts on “High Five Cookies Post 1

Please spare a few minutes, to tell me how you liked the post. Thanks

