Rendezvous with Dr.Hema Priya – A Recipe Blogger

“Opportunist is someone who takes advantage of opportunities as and when they arise, regardless of planning or principle”

Keeping the above in mind it can be aptly said that our Inspiring Momma for this month’s Rendezvous is truly an opportunist who decided to take charge of the situation and help out other confused and curious moms using her education and experience. I am talking about none other than Dr. HemaPriya Natesan, a MBBS, a recipe blogger and a mother of 2 little moppets 🙂

HEMAPRIYA

Read the Rendevouz below to know more about her.

BAM: Tell us something about yourself.
Dr. Hema Priya: Well, to start off with I am a mother of 2 kids; a boy who is 6 and a cheerful girl who is 15months. Other than that I am an MBBS with a Fellowship in Industrial Medicine. Currently, I am the Chief Blogger of the site http://www.mylittlemoppet.com.

BAM: Wow from a doctor to a mother to a blogger. What lead to the transition?
Dr. Hema Priya: When my daughter was born I had help from my mother and mother-in-law who managed my elder one and the house for me. I just had to tend to my new born which left me with some spare time; I used it to browse the internet and became a member of many mother-child forums online. I noticed that most moms lacked the knowledge of what, when and how to feed their young ones, they needed some guidance not only from a fellow mom but someone more professional and experienced. That is when I decided to pen down articles, recipes and other related info for such mothers. This led to my blog which I eventually converted to a fully fledged owned website.

BAM: Tell us something more about your website.
Dr.Hema Priya: My website http://www.mylittlemoppet.com is exclusively meant for mothers who have a lot of queries regarding how to bring up their child by providing them the right nutrition. I post a lot of toddler recipes that have been passed on through generations in the family and which I have tried and tested on my children. Besides, the site has expert posts by nutritionists, child psychologists and paediatricians that talk about other aspects of bringing up a child.

BAM: There is a lot of technical know-how required to maintain a website. How do you manage?
Dr.HemaPriya: I am a self-taught blogger who has also learnt how to create graphics, website designing, etc. I click, edit and post photos on my own. The site was built by a software person who also manages the backend.

BAM: What are your future plans for the website?
Dr. Hemapriya: The website is doing exceptionally well now. We have 7000+ email subscribers and have traffic of 1 lakh visitors a month. To sustain, one has to constantly come up with something new in order to keep the reader come back. I plan to have a few e-cook books which the readers can download and refer to anytime. I have also started a shop on the site where baby and child related products are sold. The shop is something I plan to concentrate on for now as it needs a lot of expansion.

BAM: Now the ultimate question, I am sure most mother’s want to know the answer to. 2 kids, 1 popular website, a house to manage, how do you do it all?
Dr.HemaPriya: Hehe…yes it’s very difficult but I believe with discipline and a well-planned schedule one can achieve anything. I have house help to do the regular chores that helps me save time. While my son is away at school and the little one is sleeping I get few hours to check mails and attend to issues. Serious writing and research for the site happens in the night when both kids are asleep. There have been days when I have had my daughter in one hand and I have been typing with the other. It’s crazy at times but dedication can help achieve even the impossible 🙂

BAM: Dr. please share one of your favourite recipes from the site.
Dr. HemaPriya: I have recently discovered the joy of baking and loved making this recipe for my kids http://www.mylittlemoppet.com/homemade-paneer-wheat-biscuit-recipe-for-kids/

Hope you enjoyed our little conversation with Dr. HemaPriya. Personally, I feel her site is a haven for all mothers of new born babies. There are recipes, food guides, food charts and expert articles which you can refer without doubting the source.

Till then, Love Being a Mommy!

Please spare a few minutes, to tell me how you liked the post. Thanks

